Notify a channel or workspace

Depending on how many people you'd like to notify, you have a few options for making announcements in Slack using mentions.

  • @everyone notifies every person in the #general channel, @channel notifies all members of a channel, and @here notifies only the active members of a channel.
  • These mentions won't notify people when their notifications are paused, or when they're used in threads.
  • In channels with at least six members, Slack will ask you to confirm before you send a message with any of these mentions. Owners and admins can turn this warning off.
@everyone

@everyone can only be used in the #general channel, which is a channel that all members (except guests) are automatically added to. This mention will notify everyone in the #general channel whether their availability is set to active or away.

When to use @everyone

  • Give your organization information about a new vacation policy.
  • Alert everyone in the company about an emergency evacuation drill.
@channel

Use @channel to let everyone in a channel know about timely, relevant information. This will trigger a desktop or mobile notification for all members of the channel, whether their availability is set to active or away.

When to use @channel

  • Update your team about a last-minute change to a project deadline.
  • Let members know when you adjust a work process or the channel structure.
*@here*

Use @here when you only need the attention of people who are actively working in any channel you’re a member of. This is great for when you don’t want to notify teammates who aren’t available at the time.

When to use @here

  • Schedule an impromptu event for people who are available, like a lunch outing.
  • Get a question answered quickly by teammates who are working.
Dec 26, 2020