Annotation in Zoom

Annotation

Accessing annotation tools if you started screen sharing

After sharing your screen or whiteboard, annotation controls will display. If you don't see the annotation tools, click Annotate (if you are sharing your screen) or Whiteboard (if you are sharing a whiteboard).

Accessing annotation tools if you are viewing a shared screen

While viewing a shared screen or shared whiteboard, click View Options then Annotate at the top.

Annotation tools

You will see these annotation tools:

Note: The SelectSpotlight, and Save options are only available if you started the shared screen or whiteboard.

  • Mouse: Deactivate annotation tools and switch to your mouse pointer. This button is blue if annotation tools are deactivated.
  • Select (only available if you started the shared screen or whiteboard): Select, move, or resize your annotations. To select several annotations at once, click and drag your mouse to display a selection area.
  • Text: Insert text.
  • Draw: Insert lines, arrows, and shapes.
    • Note: To highlight an area of the shared screen or whiteboard, select the following square or circle icon to insert a semi-transparent square or circle.
  • Stamp: Insert predefined icons like a checkmark or star.
  • Spotlight / Arrow: Turn your cursor into a spotlight or arrow.
    • Spotlight (only available if you started the shared screen or whiteboard): Displays your mouse pointer to all participants when your mouse is within the area being shared. Use this to point out parts of the screen to other participants.
    • Arrow: Displays a small arrow instead of your mouse pointer. Click to insert an arrow that displays your name. Each subsequent click will remove the previous arrow placed. You can use this feature to point out your annotations to other participants.
  • Eraser: Click and drag to erase parts of your annotation.
  • Format: Change the formatting options of annotations tools like color, line width, and font.
  • Undo: Undo your latest annotation.
  • Redo: Redo your latest annotation that you undid.
  • Clear: Delete all annotations.
  • Save (only available if you started the shared screen or whiteboard): Save all annotations on the screen as a screenshot. The screenshot is saved to the local recording location.

Annotation settings

If you started the shared screen or whiteboard, click More in the screen share controls for these annotation settings:

  • **Allow/Disable participants annotation:**Allow or prevent the participants from annotating on your shared screen.
  • Show/Hide Names of Annotators: Show or hide the participants' name when they are annotating. If set to show, the participant's name will briefly display beside their annotation.

Annotation shortcuts

Windows:

  • Undo: Ctrl + Z
  • Redo: Ctrl + Y
  • Mouse Mode: mouse right-click anywhere

Mac:

  • Undo: Command + Z
  • Redo: Command + Shift + Z
  • Mouse Mode: mouse right-click anywhere