Mentions are a direct way to notify people of something that needs their attention in Slack. Learn how to mention people in your messages and how to view the mentions you receive.
Mention someone in a message
- As you're writing a message, enter the @ symbol.
- Enter a member’s name, or select one from the list of members. You can repeat this step for every person you’d like to mention in your message.
- Send your message.
Within the conversation, the mentioned member names will be highlighted in blue.
How people are notified
If you mention someone in a channel...
If the person has already joined the channel, the member will be notified. If the person hasn’t yet joined the channel, here’s what to expect:
- If it’s a public channel, Slackbot will ask you if you’d like to invite the member(s) to join the channel, send them a link to your message, or do nothing at all.
- If it’s a private channel, the member won’t be notified and can’t see your message until you invite them to join the channel.
If you mention someone in a direct message...
If the person is part of the direct message conversation, the member will be notified. If the person is not in the direct message, the member won’t be notified.
View your mentions
When someone mentions you in a conversation, your name will be highlighted in yellow to help you spot anything that needs your attention. You can also view a summary of recent mentions of your name, along with any of your keyword notifications, using the steps below.
- Click Mentions & reactions in the left sidebar. If you don't see this option, click More to find it.
- Scroll through the list to view messages where you’ve been mentioned.